9 comments on “Leaving an Abusive Relationship

  1. I know how hard it is. 🙂
    Last week, I saw the Power and Control Wheel for the first time. I needed to see how many of the pieces of the wheel I could tick… All of them… So sad.
    Hugs… It can only get better 🙂

  2. I guess maybe without realizing it when I married I married a woman that was alot like my mother spent 8 years with her before I had enough of her abuse and cheating was your girlfriend anything like your mom Stephen ?

    • My girlfriend wasn’t very similar to my mother. My mother was the queen of the guilt trip and going pathetic. My girlfriend was more the raging type. The similarities are I felt the same way in both relationships: I felt inadequate and like no matter what I did, it was never enough. I do believe I was in some ways trying to fix the failures in my relationship with my mother through my romantic relationships after I left home.

Leave a Reply

