5 comments on “Smile, it’s Not all Bad :)

  1. I just love you for being so honest. for many years i felt like i was an alian now i feel more joyfull than ever. keep up the good work.

  2. It shouldn’t matter what impression you give people through your posts Steven. At least according to me. Take this as some form of online diary. I know at times I equally post things when I’m at my lowest that come out as if i’ve lost all hope or am depressed.
    If you have taken a step to write about your experiences from an honest perspective, there as an expectation of your moods to shift from now and then. But I guess it’s all part of healing.
    You talk about alcoholism and smoking and you remind me of one of my best friends. I just wish he could realize soon that he needs to give up the vices. He’s only 26. I sometimes wish he could read your posts too but this is part of my private life, blogging about narcissism and reading related blogs. I don’t share this aspect of my blogging life with others.
    I used to try talk him out of drinking heavily but during one of my personal researches realized that i was being a co-dependent for bothering too much with other people’s affairs at the expense of mine. Co-dependency is something I equally battle on and off so I had to train myself to stop telling him what to do.

    • I hear ya, BNP. There are times when I’m down and sometimes my down mood comes across rather heavily in what I post. Quitting all my vices has definitely left me in a raw state with my emotions, which has proven to be quite challenging.

      I’m sorry to hear about your friend. I hope that he eventually takes the steps he needs to in order to leave the vices behind. Good for you to realize that you nagging him won’t do any good, because it only makes things worse, in my opinion. Yes, telling him what to do is leaning towards co-dependency. It’s his choice. It’s his decision. The best thing to do is to be there for him if / when he decided to quit. If he chooses not to quit, then you have a decision to make on whether or not you want his drama as part of your life, or if you want to distance yourself from him, in order to protect yourself.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, BNP, and best wishes on your healing journey.

      Stephen

  3. Hi Stephen,

    I found your blog when searching for info on Narcissism. I notice you abruptly stopped blogging after these posts one and a half years ago. Everything ok?

    Mechele

Leave a Reply

